jainism timelinejainism,history of jainism          HISTORY OF JAINISM        

Jainism speaks about 24thinthankaras.Mahavir was the 24th thinthankara,who is considered as the founder of Jainism.
Statue of Rishabha, the first Tirthankara and
 the traditional founder of Jainism

Rishabha was the first thirthankara .

Neminath and Parswanatha were the 22nd and 23rd Thirthankaras respectively .

Vardhamana Mahavira was believed to have born in 540BC in Kundala Grana in Vaishali the capital of Vajji.


      Sculpture of Mahavira

Known for - twenty-fourth                                      tirthankara

Wife---------- Yasodha

Predecessor -    Parshva

Successor     -     None

Mahavira’s mother was Trissala and Yasodha was his wife.

He got Kaivalya at the age of 42 under a Sal tree on the bank of river Rajpalika near village Jimbhrikagrama.

Makhali Gosala was a companion of Mahavir.Who leter foundedthe Ajivika sect.
Mahavir attained Nirvana at the age of 72 years at Pavapuri near Rajagriha in 468 BC

Ahimsa,Satya,Asateya,Aparigriha and Brahmacharya are the five major principles of Jainism.

Brahmacharya is the principle added by Mahavira.

Mahavira taught the three jewels of Jainism(Triratna)-Right faith,Right knowledge,Right conduct.

Jainsim sacred texts are called Agamas.
     Jainsim sacred texts

The Agamas were composed of the following  texts;

12 –Angas

12-Upanga Agamas(text that provide further explanation of Angas)

6-Chedasutras(text related to the conduct and behavior of monks and nuns)

4-Mulasutras(Scriptures which provide a base in the earlier stages of the monkhood).

10-Prakirnaka Sutras(Text on independent or miscellaneous subjects) and

2-Culikasutras(The Scriptures which further enhance or decorate the meaning of Angas)

The texts contains the teaching of Mahavira.

The text had to be memorized since jain monks and nuns were not allowed to possess religious books as part of their vow of non-accusation,nor were they allowed to write.

Around 500 AD Jain acharyas realized that it was extremely difficult to keep memorising the entire jain literature.

In fact,significant knowledge was already lost and the rest was polluted with modifications and errors.
Hence they decided to document the Jain literature as known to them.

In this time period two major sects,namely Digambar and Swetambar,were already in existence.

Athousand years later(1500 AD) the Swetambar sec Divided into three sub sects known as Swetambar Murtipujak,Sthanakvasi, and Terapanthi.

Differences exist among these sects in their acceptance of validity of the documented Jain scriptures and literature's

First Jain council was held at Pataliputra in the fourth century BC under the leadership of Stulabahu.

Second Jain council was held at Vallabhipur in third century BC under the leadership of Aryaskandil Nagarjuna Suri.

Third Jain council was held at Vallabhipur in 5th century AD under the leadership of Devardhi Ksharmasramana.

Jainism was divided into two sects Swetambaras and Digambaras after the first Jain council.

Print Friendly and PDF

No comments:

Civilservicesias.com Posting Guidelines

We offer users the ability to comment on news items and also engage in discussions in our message board
The following types of posts may be deleted:

1.Use of offensive racial / gender /religion-bashing terms or other hurtful speech.
2.Spam and links to spam.We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
3.Personal attacks on other posters.Comment on ideas, not people.