Wednesday, 5 August 2015


CONSTITUENT ASSEMBLY OF INDIA -IMPORTANT FACTS FOR PRELIMS 2015Idea for a Constituent Assembly for drafting a constitution for India was first provided by Bal Gangadhar Tilak in 1895. In 1934, the demand for a constituent assembly was raised for the first time, which was later became an Official Demand in 1935. This demand was accepted in August 1940 offer by the British.

  • The constituent assembly was formed on the recommendation of the Cabinet Mission which visited India in 1946
  • The first meeting of Constituent Assembly was held on December 9, 1946— its temporary president was Dr  Sacchidanand Sinha
  • The second meeting was held on December 11, 1946. Its president was Dr Rajendra Prasad.
  • The Objectives Resolution was passed under chairmanship of J.L. Nehru.on 13 December, 1946.
  • The Draft of Indian Constitution was presented in October 1947. President of the Drafting Committee was Bhim Rao Ambedkar
  • The total time consumed to prepare the draft was 2 years, 11 months, 18 days.
  • The Constituent assembly was the First parliament of Independent India.
  • The Indian Constitution was enacted on November 26, 1946 and put into force on January 26, 1950.
  • On that day, the Constituent Assembly ceased to exist, transforming itself into the Provisional Parliament of India until a new Parliament was constituted in 1952
Functions performed by Constituent Assembly

Enacting of ordinary laws
Adopted national flag- 22-7-1947
Adopted national anthem- 24-01-1950
Adopted national song- 24-01-1950
Elected Dr. Rajendra Prasad first President of India-24-01-1950
 Facts about constituent assembly
Had 11 sessions over 2 years, 11 months and 18 days
Constitution makers visited 60 countries.
Total expenditure – Rs 64 lakh
Major Committees

Union Powers Committee – Jawaharlal Nehru
Union Constitution Committee – Jawaharlal Nehru
Provincial Constitution Committee – Sardar Patel
Drafting Committee – Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights and Minorities – Sardar Patel
This committee had Two sub-committes:

(a) Fundamental Rights Sub-Committee – J.B. Kripalani

(b) Minorities Sub-Committee – H.C. Mukherjee

  • Rules of Procedure Committee – Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  • States Committee (Committee for Negotiating with States) – Jawaharlal
  • NehruSteering Committee – Dr. Rajendra Prasad                                                                                                            


Post a Comment Posting Guidelines

We offer users the ability to comment on news items and also engage in discussions in our message board
The following types of posts may be deleted:

1.Use of offensive racial / gender /religion-bashing terms or other hurtful speech.
2.Spam and links to spam.We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
3.Personal attacks on other posters.Comment on ideas, not people.


Powered by Blogger.

Contact Us


Email *

Message *

I Am The Author

Like Us

Search Your BOOK Name Here@Amazon